Gallery 839

Artist Cristi Lyon exhibited her work in March 2020.

Gallery 839 is a nonprofit gallery featuring art by members of the Animation Guild, IATSE, Local 839. Artists on exhibit are tried-and-true in their fields of animation and visual art, offering a unique merging of the Union and fine art worlds.

At this small gem in Burbank, the artwork is diverse and eclectic. The Animation Guild’s first gallery opened in 1962, and its current Gallery 839 launched in 2010. Over the years exhibitions have included media such as pottery, ceramics, bronze, poly resin, paint, pencil, glasswork ,and more.

The gallery is home to individual and group shows, and artists receive 100% of the commission from their sales. Better yet, the work is affordable. At monthly openings, the public can enjoy art and refreshments while mingling with the artists behind today’s popular movies and TV shows, as well as animation industry legends.

Current Exhibit

Black Artist Group: Colorful Characters
Opening Reception: March 2, 2023, 5:30pm-8:30pm

Presented by members of TAG’s Black Artist Group, Colorful Characters is a celebration of exactly that: colorful characters! The exhibition features the varied work of artists Kat Ball, Nicole Ham, Mia Renee Johnson, Jupey Krusho, and Robert Tyler. Each artist works in their own unique medium, and visitors will find original art, prints, designer vinyl toys, resin collectibles, and 3D wall art.  


Upcoming Exhibit

Umaimah: Coloured Braids
Opening Reception: April 6, 2023, 5pm-8pm

The Coloured Braids exhibition consists of works by Umaimah through a five-year journey of loving art since she moved to the United States. She has found new topics of inspiration in her novel environment, employing gouache and digital software as her mediums. Her art has a heavy focus on the romanticism of the feminine aesthetic and draws on the distinctiveness of African cultures.

Umaimah is a Hausa-Fulani artist from Nigeria who developed her passion for art at the age of six by scribbling, coloring, and sketching. When she matured, animation and comics captured her imagination and led to her acquiring a BFA in Animation at the Savannah College Of Arts and Design in Atlanta. Subsequently, she worked with studios including Disney, Cartoon Network, and Nickelodeon. As time progressed, color became an integral part of her artwork as it allows exploration through different mediums. At present, Umaimah resides in Los Angeles exploring the city’s culture and people while invigorating her love for art.