Are you interested in learning more about the Guild or contributing to member-run efforts? A great way to start is to join a committee, or simply attend a committee meeting and see if it’s something you’d like to support.

Nearly all elected Guild leadership have full-time jobs; committees can help by diving deeper into issues, and bringing knowledge and recommendations back to the Executive Board. Participating in or leading a committee is a valuable way to grow and learn, plus you will make connections and build leadership skills that may help you in your career!

Learn more about TAG’s existing committees.


This craft committee is reaching out to as many animators, union and not yet union alike, to help build and organize a committee infrastructure that helps foster unity and community in their craft. Goals include data collection, defining job classifications, and education to help promote the growth of in-house animator jobs. Chairs: Drew Newman, Crystal Stromer, Tom Riffel

Color Designers

The Color Designers committee brings recognition and visibility to the craft of Color Design while highlighting and addressing issues of pay equity in our industry. Chairs: Teri Hendrich Cusumano & Jack Cusumano


The Communications Committee’s primary goal is to facilitate and improve communications both within the organization and with the broader public. The Committee is focused on developing effective vehicles of communication to support the goals, objectives and initiatives of the Animation Guild and its members. Chairs: Paula Spence, Emily Walus


The Constitution Committee will examine the Animation Guild’s Constitution and By-Laws cover-to-cover in an effort to ensure TAG’s governing documents are inclusive and intelligent, uphold and support the mission of our organization for the well-being of its members, and drafted in such a way as to thoughtfully and meticulously poise TAG for the future while honoring its past. Chairs: KC Johnson & Steve Kaplan

Designers Committee

The Designers Committee strives to organize efforts that are of interest or concern to designers by working to inform, educate, track industry trends, and share experiences as they relate to design. They wish to connect the Design Community and give a platform to share workplace issues and experiences. Ultimately, the Design Committee will serve as a resource and a community to help designers of the animation industry thrive. Chairs: Carl Beau, Steve Eat & Jessica Marfisi

Family and Membership (FAM)

The Family And Membership (FAM) Committee is dedicated to outreach, advocacy, and member activism, while also providing a community and resources in support of member and family wellness. Chairs: Kristin Donner & Kyle Neswald


The Afternoon of Remembrance is an annual, free, non-denominational ceremony to honor all the members of our animation community who died the previous year. It is not meant to supplant private family services. Just a way for our animation community to come together to remember our friends and colleagues. The committee plans, organizes and oversees the event. Chair: Tom Sito

Political Action League

The Political Action League exists to support the IATSE PAC fund. Our mission is to educate our members regarding political activities and legislation that threaten our Union, members, benefits, and the compensation we seek to defend and advance. Chair: Steve Kaplan

Queer TAG (QT)

The QT Committee seeks to assemble the LGBTQIA+ community in the industry and in the union, to spread visibility throughout the industry, to foster community, address LGBTQIA+ issues within the general work of TAG and to promote security for our growing community. Chairs: Andy Garner-Flexner & Nora Meek


The Storyboard Committee’s mission is to facilitate a thriving community of events, resources, sub-committees, and channels of communication for a healthy culture and to best represent the storyboarding craft and its needs in negotiations. Chairs: Jake Hollander & Sydney Sharp


The Testing committee addresses the issue of excessive and unpaid skills evaluations, more commonly known as “testing.” We hope to dismantle this industry norm from the inside-out by educating ALL of our membership on the role they play in perpetuating the standard of doing enormous amounts of work without compensation. We intend to do this through member outreach, with specialized approaches to both subordinates and supervisors, data collection, and the spreading of educational materials to our members and beyond. Chairs: Danny Ducker, Paula Spence

Young Workers Committee

The purpose of the Young Workers Committee is to foster a positive relationship (and stimulate engagement) with our newer (typically younger) members. YWC aims to engage our new members through social events so that they come to develop relationships to and through the Guild, hopefully laying the groundwork for our key long-term goal. Chair: JJ Conway